Video – Artisan Mozzarella Making at Fiore’s

Yes, Gosstronomy has been a bit quiet of late. We’re knee-deep in househunting in Sydney, focusing on finding a home near Bondi Beach. It’s a tough market at the moment – one apartment viewing last weekend in North Bondi looked like a block party – so it’s sucking up a lot of my creative energy.

Luckily, I did find a bit of time to start a long-time goal of learning video editing. For the first project, I’ve rounded up the video footage I shot during my day inside Fiore’s, the iconic deli in Hoboken, New Jersey. It’s always been famed for its mozzarella, and rumour has it that Frank Sinatra used to send a courier here to pick up mozzarella and fly it to him at gigs on the West Coast. That may or may not be urban legend, but what is definitely true is that Fiore’s is the secret roast beef sandwich place from an infamous episode of 30 Rock. That episode dealt with a drop-dead amazing roast beef sandwich with fresh mozzarella. And that’s exactly what the special sandwich is at Fiore’s on Wednesdays and Saturdays. It’s great, but my personal preference is for the hot sopressata and fresh mozzarella sandwich, piled high on fresh Hoboken bread from nearby Dom’s.

I spent the morning at Fiore’s with Dominick, who married into the family and has been working at Fiore’s for much of his adult life. He told me that he loves his job and he wouldn’t want to be doing anything else. The love comes out in the product, a fresh cow’s milk mozzarella that he braids and puts in a salty brine. They also smoke their own mozzarella out the back and make a marinated version, but it’s the fresh stuff that I love. It’s so good, in fact, that it makes me wonder whether there should be so much fuss over buffalo mozzarella. I love both, but when you can get the fresh stuff minutes after it’s made, why go for the imported stuff that takes days (or longer) to arrive on a plane from Italy? The Fiore boys claim that there’s is better, and I think they may have a point. At the very least, they’re in the running.

Check out the video, and excuse some of the still-rough edges. It’s good work for a print journalist (if I do say so myself), but dodgy work for a seasoned camera pro. I’ll keep on trying to improve. One thing’s for sure; I’m enjoying the process.

Fiore’s, 414 Adams St, Hoboken, NJ, USA, +1 (201) 659-1655, www.fioresdeli.com
Fiore Deli of Hoboken on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

